How do technical writing and microlearning intersect? Part 2

Written by Jay Manaloto

Last month, if you remember, I revealed my 1-minute YouTube as a “microlearning” proof-of-concept (POC) for more mobile, on-the-go eLearning. But I hadn’t plunged into Adobe Captivate too deeply yet. Well, a few weeks later, I finally finished my first eLearning beta module (of about 12) in Adobe Captivate! While I wasn’t too strict about tracking my hours, I’m guessing that I spent about 30-40 hours to adjust the script and audio, design the look-and-feel, and edit the final 1-minute session.

20160417a

In terms of technical setup, not only did I install Adobe Captivate on my work laptop, I also willingly subscribed to Captivate on my home PC ($30/month) and purchased web hosting ($6/month) so I can easily FTP-upload the files and deliver the HTML content with a simple URL. In terms of responsive output across various screen sizes, while the desktop version performs smoothly, my smartphone Chrome for Android still experiences lagging and choppiness. Luckily, Firefox for Android performs better.

So was it easy to create in Adobe Captivate? Was it flexible? Was it robust? Well, it depends! In many ways, yes, it’s much quicker to insert audio and visual elements, and design motion and transition effects. At the same time, there are so many elements and effects to coordinate or synchronize, not only in one screen size, but in several screen sizes, especially if you want to cover a wider range of devices. But if you can keep track, Adobe Captivate is definitely flexible and robust! No regrets!

3 thoughts on “How do technical writing and microlearning intersect? Part 2

  1. Pingback: Animating ideas in Adobe Captivate 9 | jay.manaloto.ibm

  2. Jay,
    The video is fantastic. I love the way you narrate; inflection, speed and enunciation.
    Your hard work is paying off. Pleased to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

